20 June 2015

St Michael le Belfrey, York
7.30 pm ends (c.9.45 pm)
Tickets £18 (£16)

Dido and Aeneas

with Purcell Odes and String Anthems

Yorkshire Baroque Soloists

Michael & Joseph Haydn

Aeneas tells Dido the misfortunes of the Trojan city. (1815.) Pierre-Narcisse Guérin

The ancient tale of Dido, the tragic Carthaginian queen, provided ready inspiration for Henry Purcell's enduring opera Dido & Aeneas. Alongside the character of Dido, the short opera (given here in a concert performance) is filled with vivid orchestral music, supporting characters and memorable choruses. The first half of the concert showcases Purcell’s choral music, in pieces that are amongst his largest scale choral compositions. We explore his string anthems both for Coronations (here including My Heart is Inditing) and more general use (such as O Sing unto the Lord and Rejoice in the Lord Alway).