Yorkshire Bach Choir on Disc

Victoria cd cover
This div will be replaced
Listen to a track from this CD:
Super flumina Babylonis

Tomás Luis de Victoria:
Psalms and Motets

Yorkshire Bach Choir
Yorkshire Baroque Soloists
conducted by Peter Seymour

Tomás Luis de Victoria’s masses and motets are at the same time conservative in the skilled use of counterpoint and coherent polyphonic texture, and innovative in the intense and highly mystical interpretation of the text. Victoria’s music reached great fame in its time, especially his masses, and all his works were published in his lifetime.

This recording uses new editions based on the part books in the British Library: Missae, Magnificat, Motecta, Psalmi et alia quam plurima; 3, 4, 8, 9, 12vv (Madrid, 1600).

CD content
  • Psalm: Dixit Dominus (a 8) (1581/1600)
  • Motet: O magnum mysterium (a 4) (1572) Circumcision
  • Magnificat Primi toni (a 8) (1600)
  • Psalm: Laudate pueri (a 8) (1581/1600)
  • Psalm: Laetatus sum (a 12) (1583/1600)
  • Motet: Versa est in luctum (a 6) (1605) (Requiem motet)
  • Marian antiphon: Regina coeli (a 8) (1572/1600) Easter
  • Psalm: Nisi Dominus (a 8) (1576/1600)
  • Psalm: Laudate Dominum omnes gentes (a 8) (1581/1600)
  • Motet: Duo Seraphim (a 4) (1583) (Responsory at Matins) Trinity
  • Psalm: Super flumina Babylonis (a 8) (1576/1600)
  • Marian antiphon: Salve Regina (a 8) (1576/1600) Trinity-Advent
  • Psalm: Ecce nunc benedicite Dominum (a 8) (1600)
  • Sequence: Lauda Sion (a 8) (1585/1600) Corpus Christi

Read notes from the CD

Published 2002 by Serendipity/Classic Print
Available price £10 + £1.50 p&p